Media Release

Alberta Mid-Sized City Mayors’ Caucus hosts UCP leadership candidate’s panel

Jul 11, 2022

(Cochrane, AB) – The Alberta Mid-Sized Cities Mayors’ (MCMC) hosted UCP leadership hopefuls for a panel session yesterday afternoon. Candidates in attendance included: Leela Aheer, Todd Loewen, Brian Jean, Rebecca Schulz, Danielle Smith and Travis Toews.

Candidates were invited to introduce themselves, share their platform and speak to how they will look to build a relationship with the MCMC.

“We recognized this panel as an important opportunity to connect with the future UCP leader of the Province to raise the profile of the Mid-Sized City Mayors’ Caucus, build a relationship and position Alberta’s mid-sized cities as investment-ready,” said Mayor Jeff Genung, Town of Cochrane and Chair of the MCMC. “Representing 23 communities and more than 1 million Albertans – Alberta’s mid-sized cities are the economic growth engine of the province.”

Candidates were invited to share their perspectives on municipal funding, health care, intergovernmental relations, and building relationships with Albertans.

The caucus, which formed more than 10 years ago, strives to work collaboratively with the Province to build public policy that benefits all Albertans. Collectively, the caucus develops strategies to respond to matters of mutual concern and advocates for the needs of Alberta’s mid-sized municipalities.

The MCMC includes the municipalities of: Airdrie, Beaumont, Brooks, Camrose, Chestermere, Cochrane, Cold Lake, Fort Saskatchewan, Grande Prairie, Lacombe, Leduc, Lethbridge, Lloydminster, Medicine Hat, Okotoks, Red Deer, Spruce Grove, St. Albert, Stony Plain, Strathcona County, Sylvan Lake, Wetaskiwin and the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo.


For more information, please contact:
Kristin Huybrecht, Manager, Intergovernmental Relations & Corporate Communications
Town of Cochrane
P. 587.436.4974


Download Media Release


Share this post to social: